Picture Books Promoting Harmony

Just Write For Kids is all about community and inclusivity. It’s about sharing inspiration, achieving goals and reflecting what’s needed in the world. As we grapple with some conflicting issues in today’s world, we also infuse ourselves with love and hope, and a fighting spirit for peace. March 21st marks the celebration of Harmony Day; READ MORE

Book Review: A Monster in My House

A Monster in My House, The Umbilical Brothers (authors), Johan Potma (illus.), Puffin Books, 2018 Synopsis: There’s a Monster in my Bedroom. Keep very, very still. Tell me you can see it. It’s giving me a chill . . . A funny, charming rhyming picture book about a house full of monsters with an unexpected READ MORE

BOOK REVIEW: Can’t Beat the Chemistry by Kat Colmer

Can’t Beat the Chemistry, Kat Colmer, Rhiza Edge, 2019 Note: This book was provided to me by the publisher, in exchange for an honest review. From the publisher: Ionic and covalent bonds are a piece of cake for MJ. But human bonds are a little harder … There are only two things MJ wants in READ MORE

BOOK REVIEW: Odd One Out by Nic Stone

Odd One Out, Nic Stone, Crown Books for Young Readers (US); Simon and Schuster (Australia), 2018 From the publisher website: From the New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin comes an honest and touching depiction of friendship, first love, and everything in between. Perfect for fans of Love, Simon and What If It’s Us. READ MORE

BOOK REVIEW: At The End Of Holyrood Lane

At the End of Holyrood Lane, Dimity Powell (author), Nicky Johnston (illus.), EK Books, 2018 Synopsis: Flick is just like any other youngster. She loves to chase butterflies and jump in autumn leaves. But life at the end of Holyrood Lane is often violent and unpredictable due to the constant storms that plague her home, READ MORE

Book Review: The Box Cars by Robert Vescio and Cara King

The Box Cars, Robert Vescio (author), Cara King (illus.), EK Books, February 2019.    Blurb: Kai and Liam love playing with their box cars in the park… until Eve joins in. It seems like two’s company but three’s a crowd. Can they come up with a plan to save the situation and get back to READ MORE

A Roundup of Summer and Outdoor Books for Kids

With kids still enjoying school holidays at the moment and a lot of parents starting to run out of ways to keep the young ones occupied, now is a great time to stock up on books. While any books will help take children’s minds away to amazing places and situations, and teach them valuable language READ MORE

The JWFK Members’ Top Children’s Books of 2018!

Every year I sort through my hundreds of books read, reviewed, bought, given, borrowed and absolutely treasured throughout the past twelve months. And as you know, the standard of children’s titles in Australia is phenomenal. So my process of selecting my favourites is always painstakingly difficult. That’s why I passed the buck onto my fellow READ MORE

Review: Who Dresses God? by Teena Raffa-Mulligan and Veronica Rooke

#whodressesgod? #blogtour #booksontour #day2 Who Dresses God?, Teena Raffa-Mulligan (author), Veronica Rooke (illus.), Sea Song Publications, November 2018 (2nd Ed.). Blurb: This gentle story is a conversation about God between a mother and child. Told from the child’s perspective, the series of questions and answers in rhyme introduces young children to the idea of a READ MORE

Review: Bruno, the Boisterous Blue Dog from the Bush by Robyn Osborne and John Phillips

#brunotheboisterousbluedogfromthebush #blogtour #booksontour #day4 Bruno, the Boisterous Blue Dog from the Bush, Robyn Osborne (author), John Phillips (illus.), Big Sky Publishing, July 2018. Blurb: Barefoot Bob and Bruno the Blue Heeler are best buddies. They live a simple life in the beautiful Aussie bush and life is bonzer! Then one day Bob hits the bonanza READ MORE