BLOG

Picture Books Promoting Harmony

Just Write For Kids is all about community and inclusivity. It’s about sharing inspiration, achieving goals and reflecting what’s needed in the world. As we grapple with some conflicting issues in today’s world, we also infuse ourselves with love and hope, and a fighting spirit for peace. March 21st marks the celebration of Harmony Day; READ MORE

The Quick Six Interview with Caz Goodwin

Welcome to The Quick Six Interview with Caz Goodwin! Caz Goodwin is an award-winning author who writes picture books, short stories, poetry and junior fiction for children. Her work has been published internationally and illustrated by Gus Gordon, Ashley King, Kerry Millard, Loo Joo Hong and others. She is also head of the Society of READ MORE

BOOK REVIEW: What I Like About Me by Jenna Guillaume

What I Like About Me, Jenna Guillaume, Pan Australia, 2019 From the publisher: You know those movies where teenagers have the summer of their lives? This summer is probably not going to be that. Here lies Maisie Martin, dead from embarrassment, aged sixteen. The last thing Maisie Martin thought she’d be doing this summer is READ MORE

The Road to Self-Publishing by Jess Spencer

Guest Post by Jess Spencer Just Write For Kids is excited to welcome author Jess Spencer to the blog to give us her insights into the process of self-publishing her absolutely stunning book creations. Thanks, Jess! 🙂   Jess Spencer is a mum of two babes from Adelaide. She founded Adored Illustrations with the intention READ MORE

Book Review: A Monster in My House

A Monster in My House, The Umbilical Brothers (authors), Johan Potma (illus.), Puffin Books, 2018 Synopsis: There’s a Monster in my Bedroom. Keep very, very still. Tell me you can see it. It’s giving me a chill . . . A funny, charming rhyming picture book about a house full of monsters with an unexpected READ MORE

BOOK REVIEW: Can’t Beat the Chemistry by Kat Colmer

Can’t Beat the Chemistry, Kat Colmer, Rhiza Edge, 2019 Note: This book was provided to me by the publisher, in exchange for an honest review. From the publisher: Ionic and covalent bonds are a piece of cake for MJ. But human bonds are a little harder … There are only two things MJ wants in READ MORE

The Quick Six Interview with Carolyn Martinez

Welcome to The Quick Six Interview with Carolyn Martinez! Carolyn Martinez writes non-fiction to explore topical social issues from varying perspectives. She also has 4 children’s picture books under the pen name Cate Sawyer – Discombobulated, The Umbilical Family, It’s Raining Shoes, and Places to Poop. Her early readers are phonetics based, contemporarily illustrated, and include READ MORE

Amelia McInerney – Bursting onto the Scene -Part Two

I’m so excited to be posting part two of this interview with children’s picture book author, Amelia McInerney on the day of the OFFICIAL RELEASE of the first of her FIVE picture books, The Book Chook. I was fortunate to have had a sneak peek at this funny chook last weekend at the SCBWI conference, READ MORE

The Quick Six Interview with Kerry Malone

Welcome to The Quick Six Interview with Kerry Malone! Kerry Malone is a Canberra-based children’s author. Her picture book You can do it Joey! was released in 2015 and her new chapter book, Sophie Makes New Friends is now available. Sophie’s stories were inspired by some of Kerry’s experiences. She first started wearing glasses when READ MORE

BOOK REVIEW: Odd One Out by Nic Stone

Odd One Out, Nic Stone, Crown Books for Young Readers (US); Simon and Schuster (Australia), 2018 From the publisher website: From the New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin comes an honest and touching depiction of friendship, first love, and everything in between. Perfect for fans of Love, Simon and What If It’s Us. READ MORE